Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome to the Nanjing Open Chat

Discuss anything pertaining to international living in Nanjing.

TOPIC: Info needed please!

Info needed please! 3 years 8 months ago #8070

Hello, I'm new to Hello Nanjing and was wondering if anyone could provide me with some information about life in Nanjing.

We have the opportunity to come to live in Nanjing in 2011, for at least 2 years with my husband's work. I really want to come to Nanjing and discover the city but am a bit concerned about a few things for my 2 young children.

I'd be grateful for any info you could give me concerning the following:

Is the pollution very bad in Nanjing?
How safe is it?
Where are the safest/least polluted areas of Nanjing to live?
How good are the international schools?
What are the best/worst things about life in Nanjing?

Thanks,

MacG
  • MacG
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Info needed please! 3 years 8 months ago #8071

MacG wrote:
Hello, I'm new to Hello Nanjing and was wondering if anyone could provide me with some information about life in Nanjing.

We have the opportunity to come to live in Nanjing in 2011, for at least 2 years with my husband's work. I really want to come to Nanjing and discover the city but am a bit concerned about a few things for my 2 young children.

How safe is it?

Thanks,

MacG

1. Yes, the pollution is bad, most days are very smoggy. It is not as bad as Shanghai, though.

2. Nanjing (like much of urban China) is very safe, you are lot likely to run into trouble (although it does happen, Google 'Pfrang Nanjing' to read of a family that got attacked and killed here).

3. I've no idea about international schools, except that they are pricey.

4. Best thing about Nanjing is the locals... very friendly. Worst thing is that there isn't much happening here except for bars and nightclubs... it gets a bit boring sometimes
  • the Gun

Re:Info needed please! 3 years 8 months ago #8075